Ubuntu 16.04 and Windows 10 dual boot – grub not showing up while booting

Life was going on as usual. I had Windows 10 (I am not going to bother trying to find out if it is Pro, Home or Enterprise or whatever it is called) installed on a Lenovo Z50 laptop. My work as an academic researcher demanded that I also have Linux. So enter Ubuntu 16.04 and the pains associated with maintaining a dual-boot system. A couple of months after I had stored a solid chunk of my work on the Ubuntu partition, my laptop suddenly decides that it does not want to boot into Ubuntu. I do not see the grub splash screen at power on and go straight into Windows. Searching around on DuckDuckGo (yes I know ‘google’ is a verb now, but I am sceptical) threw up some answers. The most common amongst them was to run a command on the Windows command prompt

bcdedit /set {bootmgr} path \EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi

Unfortunately that did not seem to help me. Thankfully I found an answer in a post on https://tutorialsformyparents.com/how-i-dual-booted-linux-mint-alongside-windows-10-on-a-uefi-system/

Somewhere down where the author talks about UEFI and boot managers, I found my clue. The idea is that in addition to Devices that one can boot from, there now exist options that allow the user to select, which boot manager to select. With Windows 10 and some Micrium Recovery tool that I had installed on my Laptop, the Windows boot manager had somehow been given preference and it would not detect Ubuntu that had been installed later. So now I had to go and figure out, how to do the same on my laptop. None of F9/F6/F5 keys would take me into the Boot Options menu.

This is where Stackexchange came to the rescue. Lenovo Z50 and some of the other laptops in that series have a “Novo” button (how creative with the name) that is defined as

enter image description here

So then I shut down my Laptop, pressed the “Novo” button and select Boot Menu.

IMAG0569.jpg

I then reorder the boot managers so that Ubuntu is on top,

IMAG0570.jpg

Save and Exit and voila! my grub splash screen is back and I am able to boot into Ubuntu.

Lessons learnt

  1. Dual boot is tricky but doable
  2. There is goodness and a lot of good people in this world
  3. googling (sorry I meant searching) helps

 

Ubuntu 16.04 and Windows 10 dual boot – grub not showing up while booting

Leave a Reply

